Old Bands

A friend of mine had asked me to upcycle his and his wife’s old wedding bands that had been tucked away for years in a jewelry box.  With no direct access to casting processes, I used almost all cold processes to take these precious bands and transform them into a fresh pair of matching necklaces that they would be able to wear again.  The metalsmithing processes were pretty foundational, but I was extremely challenged in terms of designing these pieces with the limited processes available to me.  I was determined though, because sustainability is priority and so upcycling materials is the starting place for 90% of the work I make.

imageimageimageimage

About Morgan Herum

I am a metalsmith and jewelry maker, print maker, and performance artist. I graduated in 2013 from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee with a BFA concentrating in jewelry and metalsmithing.
This entry was posted in jewelry, Metalsmithing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

